2018 Award Winner

Rock Island track athlete e’Dereka Newsone earned the Donald Wright Memorial Scholarship during the girls track team banquet on Thursday May 31st, 2018. The scholarship was created in honor of Donald Wright, a 1968 Rock Island graduate who served in the Vietnam War before succumbing to cancer from Agent Orange exposure. The $5,000 scholarship is given annually ​to a Rock Island senior track athlete.

Pictured in the front row, from left to right are board member Luke VanLandegen, Turkessa Newsone (mother), e’Dereka Newsone (2018 winner) and Head Coach Tammy Vesey. Second row, left to right are board members Lawrence Davis, Jack Slater, Jeff Edwards and Robert Hotle.

2018 Winner (6)